The Salvation Army to Expand into 127th Country

published on 23 Jul 2015

The Salvation Army has announced that it will officially commence work in Slovakia – making it the 127th country in which The Salvation Army has a recognised legal presence.

Our international leader, General André Cox announced the decision on Wednesday (July 22), and The Salvation Army’s work will officially commence on September 1, this year.

Interest was first shown in having The Salvation Army work in Slovakia in the summer of 2013, when it became evident that there was a great need for a ministry among the Roma communities. Some existing Christian congregations were already undertaking extensive community programmes and expressed an interest in being aligned with The Salvation Army.


The Salvation Army was registered as a Civic Association in Slovakia in August 2014, and its work began to develop under the supervision of The Netherlands and Czech Republic Territory of the Army, with emphasis on ministry within the Roma community and a learning programme to integrate three existing church congregations into a Salvation Army structure.

Eleven people have been enrolled as Salvation Army soldiers (congregation members) already, and all three congregations have people undergoing preparation to be enrolled during the official opening weekend on 5-6 September. Four candidates have also been accepted for officer (church minister) training.

Captains Vitaly and Inna Chiriac, officers from the Eastern Europe Territory, will give leadership to this fledgling work in Slovakia. They will move to the Slovakian capital, Bratislava, at the beginning of August to make final preparations for the official opening, which will be conducted by The Salvation Army’s International Chief of the Staff (Commissioner William Roberts) and Commissioner Nancy Roberts (World Secretary for Women’s Ministries).

The work in Slovakia will be given oversight from The Netherlands, and the name of The Netherlands and Czech Republic Territory will therefore be changed, with effect from September 1, to The Netherlands, Czech Republic and Slovakia Territory of The Salvation Army.